The precious metal industry in Switzerland

The Swiss precious metal industry has a long tradition. It occupies a key position in the Swiss economy since it is responsible for an important percentage of Swiss exports. The Swiss precious metal industry is extremely competitive and has an excellent reputation worldwide.

The ASFCMP Association

The ASFCMP is the Swiss precious metal industry association. Its origin in its present form goes back to 1978. Today, the private non-profit organisation has 14 members who are all involved in dealing in and processing precious metals. The purpose of the association is to contribute towards further development of the Swiss precious metal industry and to promote its members’ interests with regard to the general public, politics, and national, as well as international, regulatory authorities.

Our members offer high quality products and rank amongst the most recognised processors of precious metals worldwide. In Switzerland the most modern processing technology is used to process precious metals. The expertise passed on for generations is highly regarded throughout the world.

Refining precious metals
a Swiss success story

The precious metal industry is a Swiss success story based on the country’s competitive advantages and contributing to its prosperity. This success rests on extremely strict basic statutory conditions which have helped to give Swiss manufacturers a pioneering position and which set standards for the international gold market. This success is also based on underlying competitive advantages, in particular on tight management, a feel for innovation, skilled personnel and close links with sectors downstream, such as the watch and jewellery industry and the banks.

The precious metal industry contributes to Switzerland’s prosperity by creating 1500 direct and 1000 indirect jobs. These are skilled jobs requiring a high degree of competence and offering wages above the average customary in manufacturing.

The leading position Switzerland occupies in the gold market worldwide is strategically important given its growth potential. The watchmaking industry, an important sector providing more than 55,000 full-time jobs in Switzerland, and the refining of precious metals, create a high value-added industrial community allowing mutual benefits of the synergies for success.

See the full version (pdf)

L’industrie des métaux précieux en Suisse

L’industrie suisse des métaux précieux est issue d’une longue tradition. Elle joue un rôle essentiel dans l’économie suisse puisqu’elle génère un important pourcentage des exportations nationales. Hautement compétitive, l’industrie suisse des métaux précieux jouit d’une excellente réputation dans le monde entier.

L’association ASFCMP

L’ASFCMP est l’association de l’industrie suisse des métaux précieux. Ses origines sous sa forme actuelle remontent à 1978. L’association privée à but non lucratif compte aujourd’hui 14 membres qui travaillent tous dans la transformation et le commerce des métaux précieux. Sa mission est de contribuer au développement de l’industrie suisse des métaux précieux et de représenter les intérêts de ses membres auprès du public en général, des instances politiques et des autorités nationales et internationales de régulation.

Nos membres proposent des produits de très grande qualité et font partie des fabricants de métaux précieux les plus reconnus sur la scène internationale. Les techniques de traitement utilisées en Suisse sont ultramodernes. Cette expertise, transmise de génération en génération, est particulièrement recherchée et unique au monde.

L’affinage des métaux précieux
une success story suisse

L’industrie des métaux précieux est une success story suisse qui exploite les atouts compétitifs du pays et contribue à sa prospérité. Cette réussite repose sur un cadre législatif extrêmement strict qui confère aux producteurs suisses une position de pionniers de la profession et de référents sur le marché international de l’or. Elle se base également sur des avantages compétitifs sous-jacents, notamment une gestion rigoureuse, le sens de l’innovation, une main-d’œuvre qualifiée et des liens étroits avec les secteurs en aval tels que l’horlogerie, la joaillerie et la banque.

L’industrie des métaux précieux contribue à la richesse de la Suisse en générant plus de 1500 emplois directs et 1000 emplois indirects. Il s’agit de « postes de qualité » qui requièrent des compétences de haut niveau et offrent des salaires nettement supérieurs à la moyenne observée dans le secteur industriel.

La position prépondérante de la Suisse sur le marché mondial de l’or est stratégique au vu de son fort potentiel de croissance. L’horlogerie, un secteur majeur qui génère plus de 55 000 emplois à temps plein en Suisse, et l’affinage des métaux précieux forment ensemble un groupement d’activités industrielles à forte valeur ajoutée qui se soutiennent mutuellement pour atteindre leurs objectifs.

Voir la version complète (pdf)