More than just gold

In addition to gold, silver, platinum and palladium also play a key role in the Swiss precious metal industry in a variety of industrial sectors.

Gold

Gold is the most malleable and the softest of all metals. It is often alloyed with other metals to alter the properties of the pure metal, in particular in the jewellery, dental or electronic industries. It is an important component in almost all consumer electronics, such as audio equipment, mobile phones and digital cameras. Gold is used in decorative elements and is to be found on glass or ceramics. Due to its chemical stability, gold does not become dull or corroded and remains an excellent conductor of heat and electricity.

In the world market, purchasers of gold come from all sorts of commercial sectors. Gold consumption is greatest in the jewellery industry (43%), followed by the investment sector, consisting of investments in gold bars and gold coins at 29%. In addition, the gold reserves in national banks account for 12% of gold consumption. The remainder is used by the electronic industry and for dental applications.

Silver

Silver is the best electrical and thermal conductor of all metals, but unlike gold, it corrodes quickly. Silver, which is slightly harder than gold and has a lower melting temperature, can be used in a wide range of applications. The high reflectivity of this precious metal permits it to be used in mirrors. The unique photo-reactive properties of silver compounds are ideal for use in the photographic industry. Silver, just like gold, is very popular in jewellery, as well as being found in all types of electronic products and in the chemical and electronic industries, and is a valued investment vehicle.

Platinum

Platinum is also an excellent conductor and sufficiently soft to be processed into thin wires and complex shapes. Its high melting temperature and resistance to corrosion permit it to be used under even the most difficult conditions. Platinum is therefore the ideal material for applications at high temperatures. Since platinum is also an outstanding catalyst, it is widely used to enable chemical reactions between various substances. It is used extensively in the car industry as a catalytic converter.

Palladium

Palladium has a lot in common with the properties of platinum despite being less dense and having a lower melting temperature. It is widely used for catalytic converters and in the chemical and electronic industry.

L’or, mais pas seulement

Outre l’or, l’argent, le platine et le palladium sont également prépondérants dans l’industrie suisse des métaux précieux. Ils font l’objet de diverses applications dans de nombreux secteurs industriels.

Or

L’or est le métal le plus malléable et le plus tendre de tous les métaux. Il est souvent allié à d’autres métaux afin de le durcir, en particulier dans le domaine de la joaillerie, du dentaire ou de l’électronique. C’est également un composant important dans presque tous les domaines de l’électronique grand public, notamment les équipements audio, la téléphonie mobile et les caméras numériques. On trouve aussi de l’or dans des éléments décoratifs ainsi que sur le verre ou la céramique. Etant stable chimiquement, l’or ne se ternit et ne corrode pas, il demeure un excellent conducteur de chaleur et d’électricité.

Sur le marché mondial, les acheteurs d’or sont issus de secteurs très variés. La demande la plus importante provient de l’industrie de la joaillerie (43%), suivie du secteur d’investissement avec les lingots et pièces d’or (29%). Les réserves en or des banques nationales représentent également 12% de la consommation d’or. Le reste de la demande concerne les applications électroniques et dentaires.

Argent

De tous les métaux, l’argent est le meilleur conducteur électrique et thermique mais il se corrode rapidement, contrairement à l’or. Etant légèrement plus dur que l’or et affichant un point de fusion plus bas, l’argent peut être employé dans un large champ d’applications. Le haut pouvoir réfléchissant de ce métal précieux est utilisé dans les miroirs. Les propriétés uniques de photosensitivité des alliages d’argent en font un métal très prisé par le secteur de la photographie. Comme l’or, l’argent est très apprécié en joaillerie, mais il est également utilisé dans de nombreuses applications électroniques et chimiques ou comme moyen d’investissement.

Platine

Le platine, également un excellent conducteur, est suffisamment tendre pour produire des fils fins et des formes complexes. Son point de fusion élevé et sa résistance à la corrosion permettent son utilisation dans des conditions extrêmes. Le platine est par exemple le matériau idéal pour une application à des températures élevées. C’est également un remarquable catalyseur largement utilisé pour provoquer des réactions chimiques entre différentes substances. L’industrie automobile l’emploie intensivement comme convertisseur catalytique.

Palladium

Le palladium a beaucoup de propriétés en commun avec le platine, malgré une plus faible densité et un point de fusion moins élevé. Il est couramment utilisé dans les convertisseurs catalytiques mais aussi dans les industries de la chimie et de l’électronique.