Basic statutory conditions

Swiss legislation regarding processing precious metals and dealing in them is the strictest in the world. Our members are supervised by the Swiss Precious Metal Supervisory Authority. In an effort to protect the industry and consumers against forgery, Swiss precious metal supervisors (Sworn Assayers) carry out individual inspections to determine the purity content. In addition, our members are subject to Swiss Federal Law concerning the fight against money laundering in the FINMA [Federal Financial Market Supervisory Authority] trading field.

Responsibility and sustainability

Our members trust the principle of “knowing your client”. This principle is applied and implemented throughout the supply chain, both by binding national and international legislation and by a self-imposed code of conduct.

Our members take their industrial social responsibility very seriously. They continuously investigate and review their business practices in order to achieve the highest standards in the areas of environment, social factors, politics and human rights. In addition, they play an active part in national and international committees, on the one hand to manage natural resources in a responsible manner and on the other to meet the highest requirements in the field of ethics and human rights across the whole supply chain.

Various standards across
the whole supply chain

The differing standards have the same goal, but target different industry sectors. The “Conflict-Free Gold Standard” of the Worldwide Gold Council is directed towards mining companies, while the “Responsible Gold Guidance” of the LBMA targets processors and the “Chain of Custody Standard” of the RJC ensures avoidance of child labour, along with social and environmentally-friendly processes in the mining sector.

Better Gold Initiative

Some of our members support the “Better Gold Initiative” (BGI) which is a private-public partnership between the “Swiss Better Gold Association” (SBGA) and the State Secretariat for the Economy SECO. The initiative implements the OECD’s recommendations which are not legally binding. Here “due diligence” in the gold supply chain is brought to the fore. The BGi’s main goal is sustainable development of small mining co-operatives. The aim is to promote transparency and traceability in gold products.

Responsible Gold Guidance

All the London Bullion Market Association (LBMA) gold refiners must meet the criteria of Responsible Gold Guidance, which is based on the OECD recommendations relating to due diligence in the supply chain for minerals. Adherence to the guidelines is checked independently in order to maintain high standards in the fight against money laundering and to effectively counter the sources of finance for terrorism.

Responsible Jewellery Council

The Responsible Jewellery Council (RJC) has developed its own Code of Practice which assesses both work standards (following the ILO) and ethical standards, as well as adherence to human rights in the workplace in member companies and certifies them using third party audits.

The RJC chain of custody deals with procurement of raw material for processing on members’ premises. This comprises the ethical and ecological aspects of the origin, or more precisely, of the firms which mine the raw material, such as a mining company, for instance, along with the assessment and certification of the conflict-free origin of the material.

Transparency and co-operation

We work closely with the Swiss authorities at an international, national and cantonal level to increase the transparency and traceability of our products.

Our members are extremely interested in strict regulation of the Swiss precious metal industry because this will increase the reputation of the whole sector and its competitiveness.

Cadre législatif de base

La législation suisse qui régit la fabrication et le commerce des métaux précieux est l’une des plus sévères au monde. Nos membres sont soumis à la surveillance du Bureau suisse du contrôle des métaux précieux. Afin de protéger l’industrie et les consommateurs de la contrefaçon, les essayeurs jurés procèdent à des inspections individuelles pour déterminer la pureté des métaux. Ils sont également soumis à la loi fédérale concernant la lutte contre le blanchiment d’argent sous l’égide de la FINMA (autorité de surveillance des marchés financiers).

Responsabilité et durabilité

Nos membres se basent sur le principe « Connais ton client ». Ce principe est appliqué et mis en œuvre tout au long de la chaîne d’approvisionnement, en respectant la législation nationale et internationale ainsi qu’un code de conduite auto-imposé.

Nos membres prennent très à cœur leur responsabilité sociale d’entreprise. Ils contrôlent et révisent en permanence leurs pratiques professionnelles pour atteindre les standards les plus élevés en matière d’environnement, de facteurs sociaux, de politique et de droits de l’homme. Ils participent par ailleurs activement aux instances nationales et internationales afin de gérer les ressources naturelles de manière responsable et de répondre aux exigences les plus strictes de lutte contre le blanchiment d’argent, le financement du terrorisme et d’éviter le financement de conflits.

Une chaîne d’approvisionnement
soumise à différentes normes

Différentes associations d’industrie ont émis leur propre standard visant le même but mais adapté à leur industrie. La «Conflict-Free Gold Standard» du World Gold Council s’adresse directement aux compagnies minières tandis que la « Responsible Gold Guidance » vise les raffineries accréditées. La «Chain of Custody Standard» du RJC s’assure que les métaux précieux ont été produits de manière responsable tout au long de cette chaîne d’approvisionnement.

Initiative Better Gold

Quelques-uns de nos membres soutiennent l’Initiative Better Gold (BGI) qui représente un partenariat public/privé entre la Swiss Better Gold Association (SBGA) et le Secrétariat d’Etat à l’économie (SECO). Cette initiative met en œuvre les recommandations de l’OCDE qui ne sont pas contraignantes juridiquement, et notamment le devoir de diligence applicable à la chaîne d’approvisionnement de l’or. Le principal objectif de la BGI est de générer le développement durable de petites coopératives minières et de promouvoir la transparence et la traçabilité des produits or.

Responsible Gold Guidance

Tous les affineurs d’or certifiés par la LBMA (London Bullion Market Association) s’engagent à respecter les devoirs du « Responsible Gold Guidance » qui sont entre autres basés sur les recommandations de l’OCDE concernant le devoir de diligence de la chaîne responsable d’approvisionnement en minerais, ainsi que les standards de lutte contre le blanchiment d’argent et le financement du terrorisme. La conformité à ces directives est vérifiée par des tiers afin de garantir des standards élevés dans la lutte contre le blanchiment d’argent, contre le financement de conflit et les abus de droits de l’homme et également de combattre efficacement les sources de financement du terrorisme.

Responsible Jewellery Council

Le Responsible Jewellery Council (RJC) a développé son propre code de bonnes pratiques qui évalue les normes professionnelles (conformément à l’ILO) et éthiques, ainsi que le respect des droits de l’homme sur le lieu de travail au sein des entreprises membres, et certifie le recours à des audits réalisés par des tiers indépendants.

La chaîne de contrôle du RJC se charge de l’approvisionnement de la matière première qui sera transformée dans les locaux des membres certifiés. L’objectif est d’avoir des pratiques responsables tout au long de la chaîne d’approvisionnement, incluant les droits de l’homme, les conditions de travail, les impacts environnementaux, les pratiques commerciales éthiques ainsi que l’exclusion de financement de conflit.

Transparence et coopération

Nous collaborons étroitement avec les autorités suisses au niveau cantonal, national et international pour améliorer la transparence et la traçabilité de nos produits.

Nos membres sont particulièrement favorables à une réglementation sévère de l’industrie suisse des métaux précieux car celle-ci contribue à accroître la réputation de tout le secteur et sa compétitivité.