More than just gold

In addition to gold, silver, platinum and palladium also play a key role in the Swiss precious metal industry in a variety of industrial sectors.

Gold

Gold is the most malleable and the softest of all metals. It is often alloyed with other metals to alter the properties of the pure metal, in particular in the jewellery, dental or electronic industries. It is an important component in almost all consumer electronics, such as audio equipment, mobile phones and digital cameras. Gold is used in decorative elements and is to be found on glass or ceramics. Due to its chemical stability, gold does not become dull or corroded and remains an excellent conductor of heat and electricity.

In the world market, purchasers of gold come from all sorts of commercial sectors. Gold consumption is greatest in the jewellery industry (43%), followed by the investment sector, consisting of investments in gold bars and gold coins at 29%. In addition, the gold reserves in national banks account for 12% of gold consumption. The remainder is used by the electronic industry and for dental applications.

Silver

Silver is the best electrical and thermal conductor of all metals, but unlike gold, it corrodes quickly. Silver, which is slightly harder than gold and has a lower melting temperature, can be used in a wide range of applications. The high reflectivity of this precious metal permits it to be used in mirrors. The unique photo-reactive properties of silver compounds are ideal for use in the photographic industry. Silver, just like gold, is very popular in jewellery, as well as being found in all types of electronic products and in the chemical and electronic industries, and is a valued investment vehicle.

Platinum

Platinum is also an excellent conductor and sufficiently soft to be processed into thin wires and complex shapes. Its high melting temperature and resistance to corrosion permit it to be used under even the most difficult conditions. Platinum is therefore the ideal material for applications at high temperatures. Since platinum is also an outstanding catalyst, it is widely used to enable chemical reactions between various substances. It is used extensively in the car industry as a catalytic converter.

Palladium

Palladium has a lot in common with the properties of platinum despite being less dense and having a lower melting temperature. It is widely used for catalytic converters and in the chemical and electronic industry.

Mehr als Gold

In der Schweizer Edelmetallindustrie spielen neben Gold auch Silber, Platin und Palladium bei verschiedenen Anwendungen in zahlreichen Industriebereichen eine Schlüsselrolle.

Gold

Gold ist das am besten formbare und weichste aller Metalle. Häufig wird es mit anderen Metallen legiert, um die Härte zu erhöhen, speziell in der Schmuck-, Dental- oder Elektroindustrie. Es ist auch ein wichtiger Bestandteil fast aller Konsumelektronik wie Audio-Ausrüstungen, mobiler Telefone und Digitalkameras. Gold wird auch bei dekorativen Elementen gebraucht und ist auf Glas oder Keramik zu finden. Aufgrund seiner chemischen Stabilität erfährt Gold keinerlei Trübung oder Korrosion und bleibt ein vorzüglicher Leiter von Hitze und Elektrizität.

Auf dem Weltmarkt stammen die Käufer von Gold aus verschiedensten Wirtschaftsbereichen. Der Goldkonsum in der Schmuckindustrie (43%) ist von grösster Bedeutung, gefolgt vom Investmentsektor mit 29%, bestehend aus Investitionen in Goldbarren und –münzen. Weiter zählen 12% des Goldkonsums zu den Goldreserven der Nationalbanken. Der Rest wird von der Elektronikindustrie und für Dental-Anwendungen gebraucht.

Silber

Silber ist der beste elektrische und thermische Leiter aller Metalle, aber – im Unterschied zu Gold – oxidiert es schnell. Leicht härter als Gold und mit einer tieferen Schmelztemperatur, lässt sich Silber so in einem breiten Bereich von Applikationen einsetzen. Die hohe Reflektivität dieses Edelmetalls ermöglicht den Einsatz in Spiegeln. Die einzigartigen fotoreaktiven Eigenschaften von Verbindungen aus Silber eignen sich perfekt für die Fotoindustrie. Wie Gold, ist Silber als Schmuck sehr populär und kommt auch in allen möglichen Arten elektronischer Produkte, in der chemischen und der Elektroindustrie sowie als Investitionsmittel vor.

Platin

Platin ist ebenfalls ein vorzüglicher Leiter und weich genug, um zu dünnen Drähten und komplexen Formen verarbeitet zu werden. Seine hohe Schmelztemperatur und Resistenz gegenüber Korrosion erlauben einen Einsatz selbst unter schwierigsten Bedingungen. Damit ist Platin das ideale Material für Anwendungen bei hohen Temperaturen. Da Platin auch ein hervorragender Katalysator ist, wird er häufig dazu verwendet, chemische Reaktionen zwischen verschiedenen Substanzen zu ermöglichen. In der Automobilindustrie findet er als Abgaskatalysator weit verbreitete Verwendung.

Palladium

Palladium hat viele gemeinsame Eigenschaften mit Platin trotz seiner geringeren Dichte und tieferen Schmelztemperatur. Palladium wird auch häufig für Autokatalysatoren verwendet und in der chemischen und elektronischen Industrie eingesetzt.