Basic statutory conditions

Swiss legislation regarding processing precious metals and dealing in them is the strictest in the world. Our members are supervised by the Swiss Precious Metal Supervisory Authority. In an effort to protect the industry and consumers against forgery, Swiss precious metal supervisors (Sworn Assayers) carry out individual inspections to determine the purity content. In addition, our members are subject to Swiss Federal Law concerning the fight against money laundering in the FINMA [Federal Financial Market Supervisory Authority] trading field.

Responsibility and sustainability

Our members trust the principle of “knowing your client”. This principle is applied and implemented throughout the supply chain, both by binding national and international legislation and by a self-imposed code of conduct.

Our members take their industrial social responsibility very seriously. They continuously investigate and review their business practices in order to achieve the highest standards in the areas of environment, social factors, politics and human rights. In addition, they play an active part in national and international committees, on the one hand to manage natural resources in a responsible manner and on the other to meet the highest requirements in the field of ethics and human rights across the whole supply chain.

Various standards across
the whole supply chain

The differing standards have the same goal, but target different industry sectors. The “Conflict-Free Gold Standard” of the Worldwide Gold Council is directed towards mining companies, while the “Responsible Gold Guidance” of the LBMA targets processors and the “Chain of Custody Standard” of the RJC ensures avoidance of child labour, along with social and environmentally-friendly processes in the mining sector.

Better Gold Initiative

Some of our members support the “Better Gold Initiative” (BGI) which is a private-public partnership between the “Swiss Better Gold Association” (SBGA) and the State Secretariat for the Economy SECO. The initiative implements the OECD’s recommendations which are not legally binding. Here “due diligence” in the gold supply chain is brought to the fore. The BGi’s main goal is sustainable development of small mining co-operatives. The aim is to promote transparency and traceability in gold products.

Responsible Gold Guidance

All the London Bullion Market Association (LBMA) gold refiners must meet the criteria of Responsible Gold Guidance, which is based on the OECD recommendations relating to due diligence in the supply chain for minerals. Adherence to the guidelines is checked independently in order to maintain high standards in the fight against money laundering and to effectively counter the sources of finance for terrorism.

Responsible Jewellery Council

The Responsible Jewellery Council (RJC) has developed its own Code of Practice which assesses both work standards (following the ILO) and ethical standards, as well as adherence to human rights in the workplace in member companies and certifies them using third party audits.

The RJC chain of custody deals with procurement of raw material for processing on members’ premises. This comprises the ethical and ecological aspects of the origin, or more precisely, of the firms which mine the raw material, such as a mining company, for instance, along with the assessment and certification of the conflict-free origin of the material.

Transparency and co-operation

We work closely with the Swiss authorities at an international, national and cantonal level to increase the transparency and traceability of our products.

Our members are extremely interested in strict regulation of the Swiss precious metal industry because this will increase the reputation of the whole sector and its competitiveness.

Gesetzliche Rahmenbedingungen

Die Schweizer Gesetzgebung im Bereich der Verarbeitung und des Handels von Edelmetallen ist die weltweit strengste. Unsere Mitglieder werden von der Schweizerischen Edelmetallkontrollstelle beaufsichtigt, die zum Schutz der Konsumenten und der Industrie Reinheitsgradstichproben durchführt. Zudem unterstehen unsere Mitglieder dem Bundesgesetz über die Bekämpfung der Geldwäscherei im Handlungsbereich der FINMA (Eidgenössische Finanzmarktaufsicht).

Verantwortung und Nachhaltigkeit

Unsere Mitglieder vertrauen dem Prinzip „Kenne deine Kunden“. Dieser Grundsatz wird in der ganzen Angebotskette angewendet und umgesetzt, sowohl durch Einhaltung verbindlicher nationaler und internationaler Gesetzgebung, als auch durch einen selbst auferlegten Verhaltenskodex.

Unsere Mitglieder nehmen ihre soziale Verantwortung als Unternehmer sehr ernst. Sie untersuchen und überdenken ihre Geschäftspraktiken laufend, um in den Bereichen Umwelt, Soziales, Politik und Menschenrechte höchste Standards zu erreichen. Zudem bringen sie sich aktiv in nationalen und internationalen Gremien ein, einerseits um verantwortungsbewusstes Management von natürlichen Ressourcen zu betreiben und andererseits, um den strengen Ansprüchen in Bezug auf Bekämpfung von Geldwäscherei und Terrorismus-Finanzierung gerecht zu werden sowie die Finanzierung von Konflikten zu vermeiden.

Verschiedene Standards entlang
der gesamten Angebotskette

Die unterschiedlichen Standards verfolgen die gleichen Ziele, richten sich jedoch an unterschiedliche Industrien. So richtet sich der “Conflict Free Gold Standard” vom “World Gold Council” direkt an Bergbaugesellschaften, während die “Responsible Gold Guidance” der LBMA auf Verarbeiter abzielt, und der “Chain of Custody Standard” vom RJC stellt sicher, dass die Edelmetalle in ihrer gesamten Versorgungskette auf verantwortungsbewusste Weise hergestellt werden.

Better Gold Initiative

Einige unserer Mitglieder unterstützen die „Better Gold Initiative“ (BGI), eine privat-öffentliche Partnerschaft zwischen der „Schweizer Better Gold-Association“ (SBGA) und dem Staatssekretariat für Wirtschaft SECO. Die Initiative setzt die gesetzlich nicht verbindlichen Empfehlungen der OECD um. Dabei steht die „Due Diligence“ in der Gold-Versorgungskette im Vordergrund. Hauptziel der BGI ist die nachhaltige Entwicklung von kleinen Bergbau-Kooperativen. Dabei sollen Transparenz und Nachverfolgbarkeit des Goldangebots gefördert werden.

Responsible Gold Guidance

Alle zertifizierten London Bullion Market Association (LBMA)-Goldveredler müssen die Kriterien der Responsible Gold Guidance erfüllen, die unter anderem auf den Empfehlungen der OECD über Due Diligence in der Versorgungskette für Erze beruhen. Die Einhaltung der Leitlinien wird von unabhängiger Stelle geprüft, mit dem Ziel, die hohen Standards im Kampf gegen Geldwäscherei einzuhalten sowie den Finanzierungsquellen des Terrorismus und der Missachtung der Menschenrechte wirksam entgegenzutreten.

Responsible Jewellery Council

Responsible Jewellery Council (RJC) hat einen eigenen Code of Practice entwickelt, der sowohl Arbeitsstandards (gemäss der ILO) als auch ethische Standards und die Einhaltung der Menschenrechte an den Arbeitsplätzen der Mitgliedsfirmen beurteilt und durch unabhängige Audits von Drittparteien zertifiziert.

Die Kontrollkette des RJC befasst sich mit der Beschaffung von Rohstoffen für die Verarbeitung in den Werkstätten der zertifizierten Mitglieder. Ziel ist eine verantwortungsbewusste Praxis während der gesamten Supply Chain einschliesslich der Einhaltung von Menschenrechten, Arbeitsbedingungen, Umwelteinwirkungen, ethischer Handelspraxis sowie des Ausschlusses von Finanzierung von Konflikten.

Transparenz und Kooperation

Wir arbeiten eng mit den Schweizer Behörden auf kantonaler, nationaler und internationaler Ebene zusammen, um die Transparenz und Rückverfolgbarkeit unserer Produkte zu verbessern.

Unsere Mitglieder haben ein grosses Interesse an einer strikten Regulierung der Schweizer Edelmetallindustrie, denn diese erhöht die Reputation der gesamten Branche sowie ihre Wettbewerbsfähigkeit.